Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries #1)

This is my first book review! I hope you like it!

Book: Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries #1)
Author: Meg Cabot

Mia Thermopolis is pretty sure there’s nothing worse than being a five-foot-nine, flat-chested freshman, who also happens to be flunking Algebra.

Is she ever in for a surprise.

First Mom announces that she’s dating Mia’s Algebra teacher. Then Dad has to go and reveal that he is the crown prince of Genovia. And guess who still doesn’t have a date for the Cultural Diversity Dance? ~ Goodreads

What I like (other than sparkles and cheesecake):
Mia (the main character) was a very strong female character. Definetly not a frivolous princess.
The problems in the book seemed very realistic.
Plot growth.
Character growth was very good.


My complaints:

The main character was kind of snotty, “I’m a princess. Oh my God. Everything good about my day just went right out the window after that.” See what I mean? That was a direct quote!
Mia was also slightly stupid, or at least oblivious, and that is alway kind of annoying for me.
The story also seemed kind of strange. I mean you find out your dad is a prince and then COMPLAIN about that?! I know I’m hypocritical here…but…still.


Fabulous quotes:

“Maybe nobody has a right to tell anybody to shut up. Maybe this is how wars get started, because someone tells someone to shut up, and then no one will apologize.”

“How come nice people like Princess Diana get killed in car wrecks but mean people like Lana never do?”


Age recomandation: NO ONE UNDER TEN! She is a teenager, and this is her diary. Need I say more?

And most importantly…what does the cat think?

Hmm, needed more moments with the cat…
I give this book *drumroll*

4 stars out of five! 

Leave a Reply

