11 Birthdays (Willow Falls #1) (MMGM)

Title: 11 Birthdays (Willow Falls #1)
Author: Wendy Mass
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication date: 2009
Pages: 267

GROUNDHOG DAY meets FLIPPED in this tale of a girl stuck in her birthday.

It’s Amanda’s 11th birthday and she is super excited — after all, 11 is so different from 10. But from the start, everything goes wrong. The worst part of it all is that she and her best friend, Leo, with whom she’s shared every birthday, are on the outs and this will be the first birthday they haven’t shared together. When Amanda turns in for the night, glad to have her birthday behind her, she wakes up happy for a new day. Or is it? Her birthday seems to be repeating iself. What is going on?! And how can she fix it? Only time, friendship, and a little luck will tell. . . ~ Goodreads

 
 

Well, lets start off by saying that this book is not what I expected. It’s probably because I didn’t read the whole plot description, because of that error I was in for a ride. I haven’t read many Sci-Fi books that are like this (time repeating itself etc.) so it was a “new” experience for me. The characters were likable with some surprise moments thrown in, and the mystery was very mystery like. It also made me wish that I could go to a birthday party just like Leo’s…

My complaints: It left things unexplained that I feel like will be left unexplained, even though it is part of a series. And the problems seemed to be solved to easily.

Age recommendation: 8
Fabulous Quotes!  
 
 
“Whoa!” she says as I plow into her. ” What are you DOING? Get off me!” I hang on tight. “Can’t a girl just hug her big sister?” She stops fighting me. “Are you dying? Am I dying? Did Grandma die?”  
 
 
 
“Nothing nice you ever do for anyone is for no reason.”  
 
 
 

“As soon as I turn off the alarm clock that I knew would ring,”




And now it’s time for *announcer voice cue* What Does the Cat Think?


    Living the same day over and over again must exhaust you!



And I give this book 3.5 stars out of 5!

If you would like to go back to the fabulous Mrs. Messenger’s blog, click here.

12 thoughts on “11 Birthdays (Willow Falls #1) (MMGM)

  1. This book sounds interesting! And I agree with The Cat, it would be pretty sad to live the same day over and over again, especially if it were a bad one… Thanks for the review! (P.S. My Goodreads Reading Challenge/goal is 100 books too!) 🙂

  2. You probably did! I just started rereading it and I think that I might like it a bit more this time. Second times a charm! 😉 I'm excited to continue the series!! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

