Not If I See You First

This was so funny, I had to share it.


IMG_4139

Title: Not If I See You First

Author: Eric Lindstrom

Publisher: Little, Brown Books

Publication date: 2015

Pages: 310 (hardback)

 

The Rules:

Don’t deceive me. Ever. Especially using my blindness. Especially in public.

Don’t help me unless I ask. Otherwise you’re just getting in my way or bothering me.

Don’t be weird. Seriously, other than having my eyes closed all the time, I’m just like you only smarter.

Parker Grant doesn’t need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That’s why she created the Rules: Don’t treat her any differently just because she’s blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart.

When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there’s only one way to react—shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that’s right, her eyes don’t work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn’t cried since her dad’s death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened—both with Scott, and her dad—the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken.

Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Erid Lindstrom’s Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not. ~ Goodreads

 

 

I found this book to be really original, because normally in YA books (at least the ones I’ve read) the characters are always perfect and it’s kind of exhausting. But in this book the character has flaws and everything doesn’t really work out perfectly. It really had a emphasis on true friendship and what love is. The side characters weren’t just thrown away, they were used and helped Parker work through things. And the author didn’t feel like there was a need to . . . jazz up the story. Because when they do, I usually find it rather pointless. Ooooh! I almost forgot!!! On my copy I got from my library (it was a hardback), the title was also WRITTEN IN BRAIL!!!!!!! Isn’t that awesome!!!! And on the begining of each chapter it was written in brail too! But it wasn’t raised like on the cover. See?!

IMG_4124

My complaints: Parker wasn’t likable, AT ALL! Not that I really minded, but I know that would bother a lot of people.

Age recommendation: 12

Fabulous quotes!

“And you were waving your arms around. She was worried you might smack him or knock something over.”

“I was not waving my arms around!” Was I?

“She said you where waving like a lunatic.”

“Sarah, I’ve been walking around in a funk for two days thinking there’s important stuff you’re not telling me . . . and there it is! We’re never going to get through it if you don’t tell me. I . . . I . . . I won’t go to prom with you if you don’t!”

“I have a notebook . . . with a list of check boxes . . . Now I can check off the one that says ‘Trish said the words I’m sorry to me, presumably for threatening me with a beer bottle.'”

 

What does the cat think?

IMG_4122.JPG
I see you! buawhahaha! *evil cat grin*
Oh dear…

 

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

3 thoughts on “Not If I See You First

Leave a Reply

