Red Queen

IMG_4246.JPG

Title: Red Queen (Red Queen #1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication date: 2015
Pages: 388
Age recommendation: 13-14

 

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart … ~ Goodreads

 

 

‘Mare against her own heart’ MWUAHAHAHAHA! I can just see the author laughing quietly to herself as she wrote that romance with Maven, *sigh* he was sooooo romantic until…well…he decided to be himself. WHY DID YOU HAVE TO BE YOURSELF MAVEN? WHY! Teenagers these days. 😦 Anyway, I have to say I wasn’t/was impressed with this one. Why? Well, at first it was the typical ‘girl-who-has-nothing-has-guy(s)-in-love-with her-goes-to-capital/government-and-tries-to-stop-whatever’s-happening-while-falling-in-love-with-the-prince/bad guy-and-then-starts-to-feel-bad-for-them kind of dystopian book (*gasps for breath* imagine that as a hashtag). But then is takes a DRAMATIC TWIST! *screeching violins* the super humans and their ‘inferiors’. I was intrigued once I got past the beginning. The plot was well developed and the characters (most of them at least) where likable. It’s perfect for fans of the Selection who are looking for something darker.

My complaints are that while the characters are likable, sometimes I felt like Mare was being selfish/dumb. I kinda wish that there was more backstory on the Red and Silver history. And I don’t ship Care because of the dancing and cheating and violence and all of that stuff. Let’s go #teamkilorn!!! (I’m pretty sure that’s a team)

 

Fabulous Quotes

I can just hear them humming in firm reminder: someone else is watching here.

“Make no mistake, my girl,” he finally breathes. “You are playing the game as someones pawn.” I don’t have the heart to argue. Think what you want, Julian. I’m no one’s fool.

Hahahaha! Silly Mare…*

“Don’t lie,” he growls, eyes suddenly on fire. I’ve been lying since the day we met.

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_4245
I’m MUCH more supernatural than any Silver ever could be.

 

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5!!

*Sue’s comment, not a Red Queen quote.

2 thoughts on “Red Queen

  1. This is one of those books I’ve been hearing a lot about and intend to put on my list. Your comparison to The Selection intrigues me most. I will have to check it out once my pile dwindles a bit :).

Leave a Reply

