The Lightning Thief (MMGM)

lightning-thief1

Title: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 375 (Paperback)
Publication date: 2005
Age recommendation: 8

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods. ~ Goodreads

 

Let’s face it, I’m a Rick Riordan fan. He is one of the few authors that I follow on Goodreads (btw, click here to friend me *winks*). His writing style is really entertaining and I find it very unique. I love the mystery of it all, it starts with something small and then escalates to something GINORMOUS!!! (did you know that’s a word? Spellcheck says it is…) Anyway, I have to say-for a debut novel, this is really impressive. He manages to weave a mysterious mystery around us without us knowing it! And it doesn’t take too long to get to the action, like some books do.  Percy’s voice is really unique and you can see Rick’s writing style improve as well as Percy’s character throughout the series. It’s a great way to get kids (me) into greek mythology. I was OBSESSED for a couple of years…Plus, there’s PERCABETH!!! How could you ever hate a book that was the beginning of the third best ship ever created?

Aren’t they adorable?

houseof-hades-percy-annabeth

 

Holding onto each other even as they fall into REDACTED!!!! BE STILL MY HEART!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway, I do have one complaint. Percy would often go ‘And somehow her knew that (insert information here)’ a bit too many times. A little bit convenient.

 

Quotes Worthy of the Gods!

“How did you die?”
“We er….drowned in a bathtub.”
“All three of you?”
“It was a big bathtub.”

“Why can’t you place a blessing like that on us?” I asked.

“It only works on wild animals.”

“So it would only affect Percy,” Annabeth reasoned.

“Hey!” I protested.

All I could think of was that the teachers must’ve found the illegal stash of candy I’d been selling out of my dorms room. Or maybe they’d realized I got my essay on Tom Sawyer from the Internet without ever reading the book and now they were going to take away my grade. Or worse, they were going to make me read the book.

 

What Does the Cat Think?

 

IMG_0009
One mustn’t wake the god of sleep from his naps!

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5!

This is actually kind of a hard book to rate. The first time(s) I read it, I rated it 5 stars, but rereading it now, I would give it four.  And for those of you wondering, do NOT watch the movie, it’s literally nothing like the book. Just the same names and some of the same places, there’s a reason the third movie was cancelled…

Also, Kitty Cat at the Library is hosting the very fist Booklympics! (another one of Sue’s crazy ideas) It’s basically like the Olympics with books instead of athletes! They are scored on the cover, title, story, setting, characters etc. on a scale from 1 to 10. If you want to nominate a book, feel free to tell us in the comments or send us a email!!! The event genres are MG humor, MG mystery, and MG fantasy. There will be three total books nominated for each genre.

14 thoughts on “The Lightning Thief (MMGM)

  1. I know what you mean. You read and your like AMAZING and then you read it again and your like its good but not as I first thought it was. Yay! Booklympics!

    1. A fellow Half-Blood! Welcome! Now just stand here…*slowly removes sunglasses* *evil smile* Just kidding! But it really did help me get even more into reading also.

  2. I know teens love this book and that it has encouraged so many reluctant readers to read. I don’t know why Rick Riordan’s books haven’t appealed to me. I need to read the Lightning Thief and find out what I’m missing.

  3. My son loved this one, and went on to thoroughly enjoy the series. For me, the voice and disjointed nature of the plot were too off-putting. But, I suspect that was purely personal and may have been influenced by my holding Mr. Riordan to a higher standard, since he’d previously published adult novels and had moved ‘down’ to children’s books. Someday I’ll have to pick up the second, and give the series a second try.

    1. I can see Percy’s voice being annoying. Especially since you’ve read his adult books (not that I’ve read them, but I imagine them very different). I hope that you enjoy it more the second time!

  4. Yeah, this one is a lot of fun! My daughters both really liked it and re-read it sometimes. One of them also liked his Heroes of Olympus series (I haven’t read those ones).

Leave a Reply

