Truthwitch

Sorry I’m posting a *little* bit early today…

img_0092

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1)
Author: Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates, LLC
Publication date: 2015
Pages: 415 (Hardback)
Age recommendation: 10

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch. ~ Goodreads

 

 

So…I’ve kinda been in a reading slump. I haven’t been able to get into many books. So I didn’t really expect to get into this one. But then, everything changed. DUN DUN DUN!!! Maybe it was the cover, maybe it was the fantasy. But whatever it was, it has changed me forever! I was swept up on a journey of magic, action, and sisterhood. The truthwitch, Safi, wasn’t your typical Mary Sue. She makes mistakes and is a very interesting, unique, character. Witch many YA books lack, they all seem to be the same person. Like if you switched main characters to another book, you wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.

The shipping is pretty epic. Merix x Safi *sighs* <3. My only complaint is that Iseult isn’t very interesting to be honest *ducks rotten tomatoes*. She was just so…meh. Not a very unique, new character if I say so myself.

And I have a strange love for the villains, like if I watch a movie and the villain is super powerful with an awesome cape, I’m like: OMG THERE’S KYLO REN I LOVE HIM SO MUCH HE IS SO AWESOME AND I WANT TO BE JUST LIKE HIM MINUS THE EVIL PART, LIKE I WANT TO BE EVIL WITHOUT ACTUALLY BEING EVIL!!! AHHHHH! *ahem* And Aeduan was just that. He was evil, but not really. Plus he had an epic power that just was so awesome. He was kind of invincible! And, he wasn’t really the villain. We don’t really actually know who the villain is. Now that I think about it, EVERYONE is the villain! Mwuahahahahahaha!

Fabulous Quotes!

Who the rut is that Nubrevnan Windwitch? And: He should really learn how to button a shirt.

Safi ignored him–he was clearly an idiot

“I know,” he gritted out, “how a button operates.”

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_0106
Behold the evilest, most powerful witch of all! The Catwitch empress!

 

I give this book 5 stars out of 5 and a medal!

IMG_0108

Here’s a fun quiz to see what witchclan you belong in. (I’m a voidwitch!) https://www.boombox.com/c/quiz/107282/72d2741a-e7b7-442d-8619-fe95ad3d9cca

3 thoughts on “Truthwitch

  1. DUDEEEE I’ve been in a reading slump too! They’re absolutely awful! I’m also really behind on my reading challenge…*cringe* And you’re right, the cover really DOES grab your attention! It sounds really interesting too! I mean, “In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands…” Who doesn’t want to read that? Thanks for the review!

  2. Ah, yes. The reading challenge…They always seem to mock you when you see other people’s challenges. *glares at screen* You should definitely try it! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

