The Gold (MMGM)


Title: The Gold
Author: Krista Wagner
Publisher: Clean Reads
Publication date: 2016
Pages: 99 (PDF document)
Age recommendation: 10
How I came across the book: MY VERY FIRST REVIEW REQUEST!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

Ten-year old Amanda Greene is teased and tormented at school. Home isn’t any better where her widower father is often away on business, leaving her in the care of her teenaged sister who’s too popular and busy to care about her. To escape reality, she creates fantasy stories, but life becomes interesting for Amanda on the way home from school one day when she stumbles upon a golden pebble that can talk.

 

 

This is a very talented author. The book was set in the 1980s and manages to make it feel like the 1980s (how do I know that? I’ve read books written and set then and this could easily be one of them). It’s a interesting concept, how did the Gold become ‘alive’? Why can it talk? Is Amanda just crazy with grief and in need of a friend? Unfortunately, the book never answers those questions and leaves us to our imaginations. The horror! O__O The book really draws a realistic picture of a family broken with grief. Dad is always away for work, Jan (the sister) drinks and takes out her pain on Amanda, and Amanda deals with it by crying and feeling alone.  It is only about 15 chapters and would be great for younger readers. However, the concept of the Gold was kind of too weird for me (I know, I have no imagination). Amanda tells the rock that she loves it and all I could think is ‘She’s in love with a rock’.

Fabulous Quotes!

There once was a girl who wandered into the forest. There was only darkness there, even though the sun shone overhead.

She wrote down all of the things that had happened, knowing Mr. Ammons would never believe it anyway. Adults usually didn’t, not when you said something that sounded impossible. The movie ET was proof, but there were other movies to support the theory, like Halloween.

“Lieben? What an unusual name. Where are you from?”

“The forest.”

“You’re from Idaho? Nice to meet you.” Jane shook his hand

 

What Does the Cat Rock Think?

600578559-one-gold-pebble-amongst-regular-pebbles-gettyimages
Roses are red, violets are blue. I grow every time I think about you.

Sorry about that. But I couldn’t let that masterpiece go to waste!

 

I give this 3.75 stars out of 5!

I enjoyed it, but the whole rock-person thing just wasn’t for me. Thank you so much Krista for this wonderful opportunity!!!! 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Gold (MMGM)

  1. A heart-breaking premise. I agree. The rock idea sounds quirky. I guess I would have to read it to know how quirky. I do like magic realism though. Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. I really like books set in the 80s because that’s when I grew up, but I’ve encountered few that get things right. So, I’d read this just for that recommendation. I’m not sure about rock people, but I do like magic realism. Congrats on your first review request!

Leave a Reply

