The It Girl (MMGM)

the-it-girl-9781481463621_hr

Title: The It Girl

Author: Katy Birchall

Publisher: Simon & Schuster 

Publication date: 2015

Pages: 344 (Hardback)

Age recommendation: 8

Anna Huntley’s aims in life: 1 – Must keep my two lovely new (and only) school friends by not doing anything in usual manner of socially inept dork and outcast. 2- Train Dog (my labrador) to high-five. This is probably the most ambitious life goal on this list. 3 – Do not set the school’s Deputy Queen Bee mean girl’s hair on fire (again). 4 – Work out whether 2 and 3 constitute being socially inept or outcastish. 5 – Go to Africa and give out rice. 6 – To hide in a cupboard for life with Dog now Dad is engaged to one of the most famous actresses ever, the paparazzi want to spash my face all over the papers and everyone in school (and the world) is soon to discover the level of my social ineptitude. 7 – Is rice a bit done now? Maybe I can give out chocolate in Africa too. I do like chocolate. Must work out how to do it from the cupboard. ~ Goodreads

 

So, yes. This is a fluff book with no real meaning except for letting its readers out of reality for a bit. But sometimes these are the best books! They suck you in and help relieve the stress of being awesome. (It’s hard work, as you know) Since the title was The It Girl, I obviously didn’t have very high expectations. And I expected Anna to be the normal book nerd/clutz character so commonly used. But then: SHE WASN’T! Completely off guard I started to continue reading the book instead of stopping at a reasonable time and getting some sleep. Yes, I finished it in one sitting. It was just so good! While the plot was kinda predictable, it wasn’t. Because you knew how it was going to end-you just didn’t know how the characters were going to get there…most of the time. Ok-it was all very normal ‘normal girl turned famous’ but the one thing that really shined was not the glowing IT on the cover, it was Anna! (the MC) She is the most dramatic, funniest character I HAVE EVER READ ABOUT! She is completely crazy! Some people would say she is bratty, but I just say it’s a character flaw. She literally freaks out about EVERYTHING! IT IS SOOOO FUNNY! :’) Anyway, the ‘romance’ was very well written. There were a whole lot of feels for sure! And that is pretty much the whole book. Bug out! *drops mike*

*picks mike back up* *ahem* Fabulous Quotes! 

“My chin is not normally this red,” I began. The three of them just stared at me. “Yeah,” I continued when no one replied. “I had an incident on the stairs.” I thought about launching into an explanation, but I decided I had nothing else to add so I just nodded slowly.

I was kind of in shock myself. I’d never set fire to anyone before so the whole incident came as a bit of a surprise.

“Dad, I told you; I can’t go around cooking steaks at school.”

What does the cat think?

IMG_0875
Move it people, there are cupcakes at the end of this silly red carpet

 

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

14 thoughts on “The It Girl (MMGM)

  1. This sounds like a fun read! I can tell it has a lot of voice and character from your description. Summer is the perfect time for books that take you out of reality for a little while.

Leave a Reply

