The Tiara on the Terrace (MMGM) And Guest Cat Review!!!!

HELLO FELLOW (HOPEFULLY) BOOK AND CAT LOVERS!!! So you may have noticed that I didn’t post last Saturday and the reason for that is because I was too busy mourning that I have nine more math problems for homework (I know, it’s nothing. But I had like 80 math problems and then thought I had finished and then I realized I hadn’t and now I’m really sad 😦 XD). And also because Shannon Messenger posted this AMAZING teaser fanart for KOTLC. LOOK AT IT THROUGH THIS LINK! https://www.instagram.com/p/BJ0xrG3hEwv/?taken-by=sw_messenger

tiaraontheterracecoverfinal

Title: The Tiara on the Terrace
Author: Kristen Kittscher
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 2016 
Page count: 391
Age recommendation: 9

In this funny, clever novel, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and Gordon Korman and a companion to The Wig in the Window, tween sleuths Sophie Young and Grace Yang go undercover at Luna Vista’s Winter Sun Festival to catch a murderer before he—or she—strikes again.

Sophie Young and Grace Yang have been taking it easy ever since they solved the biggest crime Luna Vista had ever seen. But things might get interesting again now that everyone is gearing up for the 125th annual Winter Sun Festival—a town tradition that involves floats, a parade, and a Royal Court made up of local high school girls.

When Festival president Jim Steptoe turns up dead on the first day of parade preparations, the police blame a malfunctioning giant s’more feature on the campfire-themed float. But the two sleuths are convinced the mysterious death wasn’t an accident.

Young and Yang must trade their high tops for high heels and infiltrate the Royal Court to solve the case. But if they fail, they might just be the next victims. ~ Goodreads

 

Before I start the review, I would just like to say that I reviewed the first book, The Wig in the Window and the author was kind enough to let me interview her! So check out the interview/review here

So Kristen gets ANOTHER amazing cover. I like this one because is matches the other cover (haha, they’re matching. ((it’ll all make sense once you read the book))). Plus the cover artist actually made Sophie and Grace look like the were growing up! Which is a hard thing to do. I really loved th mystery in this one, while the mystery in the first was good, I always like mysteries with multiple suspects so I can guess the answers because I can’t figure out the mystery myself! One of the reasons I avoid mystery is sometime the story can get too gory and creepy and I get creeped out easily, but this is the perfect example for a MG mystery. It has a complex plot with laugh-out-loud moments and keeps you on your toes without making you squirm with graphic details. I also felt like I could relate with Sophie and her friends and nothing ever seemed unrealistic or made me roll my eyes (and I love to roll my eyes, trust me) 😉 Another thing I really loved was that the love interest, Rod, was a part of this book more than he was in the last book. He had some nice character development and we weren’t expected to just like him because ‘he’s nice’. The only big problem I really had with this book was there were so many suspects and characters thrown in all at once I sometimes got confused about who was who. But besides that, this was one mysteriously fabulous book.

Fabulous Quotes!

When Barb Lund greeted us in front of the Root Beer float, she didn’t cross her arms and glare. She didn’t snap her gum. It was far worse than we ever could have imagined. She smiled. I almost screamed and ran.

I looked at Rod helplessly. “Meet you by the port-a-potties in ten?” I cringed. Leave it to me to suggest meeting at toilets when a gorgeous rose garden was a few steps away. “Uh, okay?” Rod squinted. “I’ll bring the air freshener?”

(the person talking is a poop scooper) “But as my dear old friend Jim would have said, ‘Doody calls.'”

And Our Special Guest on What Does the Cat Think?, MOMO!!!! Momo enjoys spending time on a giant, flying bison and saving the world!

IMG_1800
Just put a crown on my head and give me my massage already!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

6 thoughts on “The Tiara on the Terrace (MMGM) And Guest Cat Review!!!!

  1. Sue, I can’t see you teaser. Maybe others can. I can’t wait to read “Lodestar.” Will reread “Neverseen” again before the release. The ending left so many possibilities.

    I enjoyed your review of “The Tiara on the Terrace.” What a fun mystery for teens. Great cover!

  2. I really enjoyed the first book–The Wig in the Window–and adore Kristen as a person. She did a skype chat with a middle school writing club I ran one year, and was so funny, gracious, and lovely! Now I think it’s time I pick up this second book in the series. Thanks for the nudge, and Happy MMGM!

    PS Hello, hello, to Momo! We have an Appa in our home which likes to travel with us and goes to the beach when we do, but me thinks he’s missing a buddy. 😉

Leave a Reply

