My Life Next Door

my-life-next-door

Title: My Life Next Door
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: The Penguin Group
Publication date: 2012
Page count: 394 (hardcover according to GR, I read this on my Kindle)
Age recommendation: 14-15

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another. ~ Goodreads

 

My absolute FAVORITE part of this book was its gorgeous cover! I just love how it represents the book and the lighting and the fence just AAAAAAAHHHH IT’S SO PRETTY I’M GONNA DIE!!! Even the models’ features match their descriptions! But…that was really the highlight of the whole book for me. The big problem I had with this is the romance. Like, I’m not a huge fan of it, but I totally enjoy it if there is chemistry, flirting, and (heaven forbid) feelings involved. BUT THERE WEREN’T ANY OF THESE THINGS!!! NOT ONE! First of all, the chemistry. I saw zero reason for Jase and Samantha to be together. NONE. Like, when they’re together she’s just thinking about his body and nothing else. It’s SOOO ANNOYING. And they’ve never ever gone on a date. Not even one. So we know literally nothing about Jase! Just that he’s part of the Garrett Family and is Super Nice and Can Fix Things. THAT’S ALL! And do they flirt? Is there tension? NO It’s just like, “Ima go the Jase’s house, oh look, he kissed me. Wow I’m in love. yippee.’ I KID YOU NOT THAT IS THEIR ENTIRE RELATIONSHIP. And then Sam(antha) is like, ‘we kiss and do other stuff to deepen our relationship,’ but there ISN’T A RELATIONSHIP! It’s just two super-hot robots kissing each other the whole time! And the feelings, I felt nothing through this book. The “romance” was so bad, that I kept expecting Sam to break up with Jase and get together with Tim or someone. Why? BECAUSE THEIR RELATIONSHIP WAS SO WEAK. THAT’S WHY. Other things that annoyed me include:

  • Plot (it wasn’t even there for the first part and way weird and random for the last)
  • Sam (she’s kind of creepy, like, stalking a family for ten years? Yikes)
  • Jase (Sam and Jase met on her roof. They didn’t know each other before and he just happens to be in her backyard when he was obviously not welcome. Stalk people much?)
  • Nan (because A) Who names their kid that? and B) She did what? for that long?! And no one noticed? Uhuh yeah right)
  • The mom (for being so easy to manipulate)
  • The manipulater (for being so manipulative)

Oh, and one more thing, some scenes were on the border of new adult and YA so I wouldn’t read this unless you’re 14+ or super duper mature

Fabulous Quotes! (because I totally didn’t forget this and had to edit the post after I posted it haha nope it wasn’t me)

“Mom. He didn’t do drugs. I’ve told you that before. He was just weird.”

“Dat is Samantha,” Jase says. “Apparently soon to be your sister-in-law.” He cocks and eyebrow. “You and George move fast.” “We talked astronauts,” I explain

Right. Because if you have trouble putting ketchup and mustard on a hot dog, you should totally move on to saving lives,

What Does the Cat Think?

no-image-available
Cat is too busy next door partying with the neighbors

*snickers, you see what I did there?* XD 😉

I give this a generous 3 out of 5 stars!

See you cool peeps next week! 🙂 ❤

7 thoughts on “My Life Next Door

  1. Well, you made me laugh as I read your review. You are so brutally honest and don’t hold back. I love it. I do love the cover. But, I was creeped by Samantha’s stalking the Garretts — her dream family. Guess you can’t blame her if she lives in a dysfunctional family.

Leave a Reply

