The Whispering Skull (MMGM)

14059024

Title: The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co. #2)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: 2014
Page Count: 435 (Hardback)
Age Recommendation: 13+

In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood & Co. hasn’t made much progress. Quill Kipps and his team of Fittes agents keep swooping in on Lockwood’s investigations. Finally, in a fit of anger, Anthony challenges his rival to a contest: the next time the two agencies compete on a job, the losing side will have to admit defeat in the Times newspaper.

Things look up when a new client, Mr. Saunders, hires Lockwood & Co. to be present at the excavation of Edmund Bickerstaff, a Victorian doctor who reportedly tried to communicate with the dead. Saunders needs the coffin sealed with silver to prevent any supernatural trouble. All goes well-until George’s curiosity attracts a horrible phantom.

Back home at Portland Row, Lockwood accuses George of making too many careless mistakes. Lucy is distracted by urgent whispers coming from the skull in the ghost jar. Then the team is summoned to DEPRAC headquarters. Kipps is there too, much to Lockwood’s annoyance. Bickerstaff’s coffin was raided and a strange glass object buried with the corpse has vanished. Inspector Barnes believes the relic to be highly dangerous, and he wants it found. ~ Goodreads

 

TEN DAYS TILL LODESTAR! TEN DAYS! YOU CAN PANIC NOW!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!! AND 9 DAYS TILL HALLOWEEN! CUE THE PANIC, CUE THE PANIC I SAID! AND I DON’T EVEN HAVE A COSTUME YET

YEAH. It’s bad… Anyway-onward to the review! Soooo, you may have noticed that I tend to lean away from scary/horror books. In fact, I’ve only reviewed ONE horror book on this blog, The Screaming Staircase (Lockwood and Co. #1) (MMGM). (That’s a handy dandy link btw) ;). It also happens to be the first book in the series! So… it would only be fitting that the second ever horror book I’ve ever read, was the next book in this series!!!! And… I really loved this book. There was some interesting world building, and we got more and more information about, well, everything! Little hints that will eventually add up into something bigger and make us all go, ‘THAT WAS SO OBVIOUS’ when it’s finally revealed. I also loved how the author added humor to the book so well and it just fit. I obviously am *very* experienced with horror books, but I’m guessing that it normally is out of place and awkward in these types of books. And I also really ended up liking the skull. I felt like I could relate, by also being dead (at least on the inside XD JK). But seriously, the skull had character and actually is probably, besides Lockwood and George, my favorite character! The mystery was very interesting, but was a little murky and not that engrossing. Lucy also really was very… mean in the beginning (let’s just say there were some *interesting* descriptions). And either I got braver, or it was just because I read it mostly all day, but it wasn’t quite as spooky as I was hoping (not that I *really* minded that much, but it’s all good). But all in all, this book is very much alive. Not %100 sure if that counts as a joke but just roll with it

Spooky Quotes!

The mustache drooped ruefully.

“Well,” Lockwood said, “if you judge success by the number of enemies you make, that was a highly successful evening.”

Sure you’ve got your shirt tucked in, George?” “Quit worrying. I even brushed my teeth as well.” “My God, you have made an effort.

What Does the Cat Think?

img_2277
SAVE ME THE MICE ARE COMING BACK TO HAUNT MEEEEEE!!! *squeaks echo in the distance*

I give this book 5 out of 5 jack’o’lantern cats!!!! 😀

8 thoughts on “The Whispering Skull (MMGM)

  1. I featured this book a while ago, and by the looks of it, it seems as if you loved the book as much as I did. I love how you don’t follow the “professional” format in your reviews and really just let out everything you have for the book, which is sort of what I’m doing, but not as to an extreme to you.

    Also…LODE STAR HYPE WOOO 7 DAYS!!!!!

Leave a Reply

