The King of Average (MMGM)

51ya3gfmzil-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Title: The King of Average
Author: Gary Schwartz
Publisher: Bunny Moon Enterprises, LLC.
Publication Date: 2015
Page Count: 228 (PDF file)
Age Recommendation: 11
How I Came Across the Book: I GOT A REQUEST!!!!! THANK YOU!!!

James isn’t the world’s greatest kid, but he’s not the worst, either: he’s average! When he decides to become the most average kid who ever lived, James is transported to another world where he meets Mayor Culpa, a well-dressed talking Scapegoat who recruits him to become the new King of Average.

He’s joined on his quest by a professional Optimist and his grouchy companion, an equally professional Pessimist. Together, they set out on a journey of self-discovery that leads them all the way from the Sea of Doubt to Mount Impossible, the highest peak in the Unattainable Mountains. When James stumbles into a Shangri-la called Epiphany, he uncovers the secret of who he really is.

Follow James on his hilarious, adventure-packed journey to find self-worth in this heartfelt middle grade novel The King of Average by debut author Gary Schwartz. ~ Goodreads

 

Well… This certainly wasn’t your average middle grade book *finger guns* ;). The book overall was very enjoyable. And there were almost no cliches. Like, on the cliche’o’meter it would get a -2 on a scale from 1-10. So HUGE pat on the back for that! That’s something that you don’t see everyday…or really ever. Another above average thing I liked about this book was the use of words and the creativity that went into the story! Like there was a character named Slim Chance and there was a little bird that someone got around messages to everyone. It used metaphors in a way that I was like, ‘HOW HAS THIS NOT BEEN DONE BEFORE!?’ So whoop whoop! If I had to compare this book with another, I would compare it with Alice in Wonderland. It was just so strange and wacky it was kind of scary at some times XD. And I also really loved some of the characters. They each had their own unique voice and personality! My favorite was Kiljoy the professional pessimist, *dabs* (I could really relate XD). However, the main character James felt really…just…flat. Like, I felt like the author was saying he was a kid-but was writing him like an adult. James was amazingly mature and I never actually felt like I got any emotion from him. The one other issue I had was that the book was so weird, it was just…out there. (a.k.a. it was totally out of my league and I’m jealous…But still :,(). And at the end it got extremely dark and I was just like WOAH NELLY! WOW OK! Like don’t get me wrong, it was a very important and somewhat ignored issue, but from the feel of the entire book it just came out of nowhere so it was sorta a shocker.

Fabulous Quotes

“O‐oh‐oh, he was such an average king!” the goat rhapsodized. “So wonderfully mediocre!”

“I believe I will,” said James, laughing loudly. Everyone joined in, except for Kiljoy, who stewed contentedly in his own misery.

“What happened to the river, anyway? It was calm and shallow just a second ago.”

“It’s the River Maunder, a tributary of the mighty Meander. You can’t just cross it. It gets angry if you do. You’ve heard the expression ‘Don’t cross me or you’ll regret it?’

What Does the Cat Think?

788c5-img_3898
Well I’m the king of Surfs so back off

I give this 4 stars out of 5!!!

6 thoughts on “The King of Average (MMGM)

  1. You sure know how to pick really unusual and great MG books. I like quirky, but it sounds like it is so much more with all of the metaphors. Actually it sounds brilliantly written. On my TBR list! Thanks. And, happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

