Secret Orgions (MMGM)

secret-origins-9781481461252_hr

Title: Secret Origins (Story Thieves #3)
Author: James Riley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count: 372 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 7

Bethany travels to a new fictional world to rescue her father in this third book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieves—which was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Owen and Bethany have sworn off jumping into books for good. But they didn’t make any promises about not jumping through strange portals that lead to a comic book world.

Jupiter City was once filled with brightly costumed superheroes and villains, but nowadays, there’s nothing left but the Dark. Even the villains are terrified of the Dark’s shadows, and most of the heroes have either disappeared or been lost to mind control. The one hero who might have stopped all of this, Doc Twilight, has been imprisoned by the Dark.

But who is Doc Twilight really? And how can Bethany and Owen defeat the Dark without superpowers of their own? They’ll definitely need the help of some old friends and new allies to bring the light back to Jupiter City, and find out the truth behind the Dark.

It all comes back to Bethany’s own secret origins. What really happened when her fictional father disappeared years ago? Who is Nobody, and why is he writing these Story Thieves books? And what kind of supervillain name is The Rotten Banana? ~ Goodreads

HOLY FREAKING CANNOLIS JAMES RILEY DOES IT AGAIN. HE WOWS ME WHEN I THINK I CANT BE WOWED. HE MAKES ME LAUGH, CRY, CARE… XD Anyway, I have been reminded about why this is one of my favorite series in the entire world. 😛 Most books you read, will actually be good. Some may be rotten bananas (hehehe), but most will be…good. But, then there are the books that stand out to you. The books that you will remember and tell your future children about. These books are very very rare. In my entire life, I have only come across under 10 series that stand out to me in this way. This book/series is one of them. Reasons?

  • The whole plot and idea itself: Every single book that is beyond good has one thing in common, that you’ve never read anything like this ever before. Hidden Orgins does that by taking you into fictional worlds, where the people there are actually…real? Controlled? Imaginary? You’re not sure. And you never know what’s going to happen.
  • The characters: Despite switching POVs, James manages not to blend them together which is actually really, really hard. And not only that-he also gives each of them a extremely unique voice! Even the side characters are unique and have their own voice, not flat and boring like some books.
  • The writing: Jame’s writing also has a very original style. It’s flows nicely and is always, extremely funny! Which is one of the things I love most about this series. 🙂
  • The cover! Yes, I admit I am a sucker for covers. They’re always so pretty and shiny… but not only is this cover very pretty AND shiny, it also shows some scenes from the book in a sort of non spoilery way. . . ? Maybe? Yeah. 🙂
  • THERE WERE PICTURES!!!! Like, as it said in that nice description…they jump into a comic book world, so the pictures are of them (the main characters) IN COMIC BOOK STYLE!!!!! IT IS SO COOL!!!!!!!!!! EEEEEEEEEPPP!!!!
  • AND PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. THE PACING, EVERYTHING I LOVE IT AAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL 😀

The only thing that bothered me in the very very slightest is that my FAVORITE CHARACTER WASNT THERE THE ENTIRE TIME 😡 nooooooo

Fabulous Quotes

Owen on the screen burst into flames, began screaming, and collapsed into a pile of ashes.

“Huh,” Charm said, erasing the image. “I must have forgotten to carry the one.”

Reading comics had never been this exhausting back home.

“You know, mutants get their powers around age twelve or thirteen, without having to do anything else. Do you know how many times I tried walking through walls like Kitty Pryde on my last birthday?”

“Based on what’s left of your brain, I can guess,”

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_0106
MWUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I AM THE KEEPER OF THE WORLDS!!! RULER OF ALL!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!!!

AND HERE’S THE COVER OF BOOK FOUR


10 thoughts on “Secret Orgions (MMGM)

  1. Huh. I read the first one and LOVE it, but the second was just to slow moving/confusing/boring that I couldn’t make myself finish it. I’ve felt guilty for a while about it so I plan on TRYING to read the 2nd and then the 3rd. And 4th!

  2. I’ve read the first two, and I can’t wait for this one! The covers in this series are so gorgeous. Thanks for the review – I’m impatiently waiting for it at my library! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

