Chains (MMGM)

OMGS FIRST OFF I AM SO SO SO SORRY FOR NOT POSTING LAST WEEK AND THE WEEK BEFORE THAT  >_< THAT IS IT I HAVE NO EXCUSES OTHER THAN THAT I AM A TERRIBLE BLOGGER 😄

51yupuz0efl-_sx334_bo1204203200_

Title: Chains (Seeds of America #1)
Author: Laurie Halse
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: 2008
Page Count: 316 (Paperback)
Age Recommendation: 11

As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight…for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate become the property of a malicious New York City couple, the Locktons, who have no sympathy for the American Revolution and even less for Ruth and Isabel. When Isabel meets Curzon, a slave with ties to the Patriots, he encourages her to spy on her owners, who know details of British plans for invasion. She is reluctant at first, but when the unthinkable happens to Ruth, Isabel realizes her loyalty is available to the bidder who can provide her with freedom.

From acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson comes this compelling, impeccably researched novel that shows the lengths we can go to cast off our chains, both physical and spiritual. ~ Goodreads

Ok, so, I knew this book was going to be good. I got this from my amazing great aunt, and she has aMAZing taste in books, so I knew that  it wouldn’t disappoint. However, what I didn’t know was that it would FREAKING BLOW MY MIND!!! THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! Definitely one of the best I’ve read in AGES. The author manages to make a historical fiction book action packed, and so INTERESTING that I actually could forget that it was supposed to give me knowledge! And surprisingly, the main character was the absolute best thing about this entire story. I admit that we have a very, very serious problem with diverse casts and MCs. Honestly, I couldn’t name five books that I’ve read where the main character is a person of color, much less a female person of color. And that in itself is very awful and needs to be fixed this instant. But, Isabelle was a female person of color and she was so so so strong that it blew me away. And not only was she was strong, but she also cared for others and knew what she wanted. I know that if I was ever went through what she did, I would probably have a mental breakdown the first day. It didn’t lack in the fundamental platforms for a good book either. The plot was thick and exciting, the writing was articulate, and the character growth and realisticness was spot on! Plus, I usually stay away from historical fiction to avoid…learning things *horrified gasping*, but I am definitely glad I didn’t stay away from this one!!!

Fabulous Quotes

Madam was saddened by her husband’s aunt’s return to health.

Becky urged me to go. “There’s nothing like a good hanging, is there?”

The crows cawed and wheeled and beat their shiny black wings against the wind-whipped clouds. They saw everything.

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_1181
Bleh

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

Also! Check out the amazing Patricia’s blog Children’s Books Heal for an amazing review of the third book of this trilogy, and Joanne of Bookish Ambition’s awesome review of a similar type book (Answering the Cry of Freedom) AND Joanne R. Fritz of My Brain on Books review of the first and second of this series! Whew!

14 thoughts on “Chains (MMGM)

  1. Awesome review if CHAINS! And, I loved the quotes you selected. I can’t believe it. I am reviewing ASHES, the third book in Anderson’s trilogy tomorrow. I also do a brief synopsis of CHAINS and FORGE at the end! You have to read the other titles. The books only get better! I’m going to link to your post.

  2. I have this one on my TBR list. IT would go well with SHACKLES FROM THE DEEP.
    My trick to blogging was one summer I wrote four posts in one week and then scheduled them on future dates. I’ve been way ahead ever since and can take an occasional week or two off and nobody notices.

Leave a Reply

