Forge (MMGM)

51eqo8p14ul

Title: Forge (Seeds of America #2)
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: 2010
Page Count: 297 (Paperback)
Age Recommendation: 14

In this compelling sequel to Chains, a National Book Award Finalist and winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson shifts perspective from Isabel to Curzon and brings to the page the tale of what it takes for runaway slaves to forge their own paths in a world of obstacles—and in the midst of the American Revolution.

The Patriot Army was shaped and strengthened by the desperate circumstances of the Valley Forge winter. This is where Curzon the boy becomes Curzon the young man. In addition to the hardships of soldiering, he lives with the fear of discovery, for he is an escaped slave passing for free. And then there is Isabel, who is also at Valley Forge—against her will. She and Curzon have to sort out the tangled threads of their friendship while figuring out what stands between the two of them and true freedom. ~ Goodreads

Did I shut this book with an oddly satisfying THUD? Yes, yes I did. Did this book meet my expectations? Yes, yes it did. The book continues the story beautifully, living up to the expectations and building off the sturdy platform the first book, Chains, set up. The character Curzon was just as likable as Isabele and even though it was almost two separate stories, and Curzon is essentially a new character, I never felt like I was being cheated of knowing what happened to Isabele or that he wasn’t important. Curzon was somebody I really admired! He was my age and he’d already survived through more than I can possibly imagine. He’d been arrested, beaten, and fought in a war plus so many more horrific things, but he still is strong and has hope. Obviously this author has a talent in creating strong, likable characters. On a completely different note, I surprising ENJOYED ABSORBING UNIMAGINABLE POWER KNOWLEDGE!!!!!!!! THE SHOCKING TRUTH BEHIND SUE’S RABID READING!!!! (more on page 64) Despite this books many talents, I sort of feel like this is more of a background story that’s setting up for the next book-rather than building and contributing to the story. Not that I minded, but I just feel like there was less going on than in the first one. There were, however, some lovely living circumstances in the army! (And I totally didn’t take a break because I was a little grossed out, hahahahaha) *ahem*. There also seems to be a trend that whenever they get ‘bought’, there is always a kind, white woman cook that helps the slaves. I’m not saying that that’s ‘unrealistic’ or anything. But, it did stand out to me as…odd. But overall, it was a fabulous book to a fabulous series!

Fabulous Quotes!

Ben’s left eye was puffy and darkened with blood. His mouth was swollen too, and bleeding, as was his nose and the knuckles on his right hand. “What happened?” I asked. “Do you know how to cook a pumpkin?”

gnawing on his toothstick like a discontented beaver.

“Soldiers who do not march together make an army of baby birds.”

What Does the Cat Think?

 

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

10 thoughts on “Forge (MMGM)

  1. Anderson is one of my very favorite middle grade writers, and I really loved Chains. Interesting tho’ that you sensed the plot was less exciting because it was setting up for the next book. Perhaps that’s a sacrifice authors sometimes have to make? Debatable. It is shocking how historical fiction makes the learning of history not boring!

  2. I am thrilled you enjoyed FORGE! I knew you would. And, yes it sets up the story for ASHES. Which, I imagine you have already started. It’s fun to be able to read the books in a sequel so close together. Great review.

  3. I could not get into this series, and I normally love both this author and historical fiction. Maybe too gory. I did buy them all, since my students frequently have to read books set in this time period.

Leave a Reply

