Ashes (MMGM)

8131809

Title: Ashes (Seeds of America #3)
Author: Laurie Halse
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: 2016
Page Count: 298 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 13

Freedom for one, freedom for all?


That’s the question that burns in Isabel’s mind as she and Curzon forge on through chaos and fear toward the dream that’s kept them alive for so many years: freedom. But her dream of living not as a “runaway” but as a free person with land and a family of her own seems impossibly far away. That dream hinges on one thing: finding her little sister, Ruth. It’s been years since Ruth was stolen from her. Is she even alive? And if Isabel can find her, how will they make it safely through the war between the Patriots and the British that rages on as dangerously as ever, while bounty hunters try to kidnap them at every turn?

In the American Revolution, one must pick a side in order to survive. But how can you care about a nation’s freedom when the very same nation has kept you in chains? ~ Goodreads

Finally! It’s the long awaited review of Ashes! Yippee! First off, have you ever read a series where the books just keep on getting better and better with every book? Even though you didn’t think that it was possible? That’s the way it is with this series. Each book is even MORE fabulous than the last! We’re learned (or reviewed) about plot arcs recently in my class. This series is the perfect example for that. The first book sets off the chain of events that follows through and sets up more in the second book, that finally leads to the climax in the third book! There was no such thing as a slow moment in all of its 298 pages. Every single sentence served a purpose, and it managed not to overwhelm you with details! Like some certain books I might add.*mysterious coughing fit*

Anyway, I think this is a great book for teachers to reccomend to kids about the American Revolution! It’s really interesting and it could help to get kids actualy interested about it? Plus it adds some interesting details that might have been *missed* in some history books. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

And literally EVERYTHING ELSE IN THIS BOOK WAS SO AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH. LIKE OMG there was some romance, but it was so CUTE I DIDN’T CARE. AND I honestly wasn’t sure if there was even going to be a happy ending for the MCs so??? That usually never happens to me? Like normally I can tell if the story is going to end happy or sad! But not with this one. Honestly this was a really interesting book to read, especially in times like these…

Fabulous Quotes

Ruth was well acquainted with the short and perilous lives of chickens,

“But how could a shell cause such harm?” I asked.

The men stared at me in astonished mortification.

“Beg pardon?” Henry said. “Do you not know what a shell is, missus?”

“I’ve held them in my hands, of course,” I said. “The sea can cast up all manner of shells;

“You are a muzzy-headed blatherskite,” I muttered

“And you’re a vexatious cabbagehead,” He replied

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_4031
No, YOU’RE a cabbagehead! HA! 

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

Also, has anyone else seen Beauty and the Beast yet? Thoughts? (In my opinion the colors and sets were the best part)

11 thoughts on “Ashes (MMGM)

  1. So glad to hear this one is great or even better than the other two. I look forward to reading it someday. I love books in which every sentence is useful.

  2. I’ve had this series on my radar for much too long. Your enthusiasm is infectious, and I will put this on the top of my summer reading pile. Spring is sadly already taken up. Thanks for the great recommend!

  3. Glad we finally got to read the review after all of your taunting… I love the quotes. I still haven’t read the second book yet, so thank you for urging me to do so! Thanks for your review!

Leave a Reply

