The Dark Prophecy (MMGM)

51mdmlqaxll-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Title: The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2)
Author: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count: 414 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 10

Zeus has punished his son Apollo—god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more—by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. What is affecting the Oracles, and how can Apollo do anything about them without his powers?

After experiencing a series of dangerous—and frankly, humiliating—trials at Camp Half-Blood, Apollo must now leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. Fortunately, what he lacks in godly graces he’s gaining in new friendships—with heroes who will be very familiar to fans of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series. Come along for what promises to be a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride. . . .  ~ Goodreads

I love this series, more specifically, this book, more than Apollo loves himself. And if you know anything about Apollo, you know that is saying a lot. I’ve read about this world and its characters for such a long time it’s more like a group of friends I get to see once or twice a year every time a new book comes out. Rick’s voice is so memorable and hilarious, how can you not love his books?

His characters are TO DIE FOR. We got to see more Leo….That under no circumstances can ever be a bad thing. LEO IS AMAZING! There was also plenty of epic, yet strange battles and memorable haikus. What I loved most about this book wasn’t the amazing adventures and suspense. It wasn’t the strange animals or monsters (i.e. combat ostriches). It’s not the way that you can see that Apollo/Lester is 16 years old and also thousands of years old. It’s not that you can see Lester/Apollo maturing and becoming a better person throughout the books. It’s not the witty humor that has NO match and makes this book worth reading even if you don’t like anything else. It’s not the awesome representation of EVERYONE in the books. It’s not the awesome covers. And it’s not  even seeing what happens to people from his other series in this book. IT IS ALL OF IT! LITERALLY.

If I had to choose what my favorite part of this book was, I couldn’t because IT IS ALL SO AWESOME!!! Apollo and Meg’s friendship is seriously goals. Like, that is what best-friends-in-the-making should look like. And the bizarreness of everything is honestly so refreshing. There are no cliches because I’m pretty sure Rick comes up with some of these plot ideas in his sleep. (Like, combat ostriches. Who would think of combat ostriches???) AND THAT IS WHY I LOVE IT!!!!

PLUS WHAT WILL APOLLO/LESTER DO WHEN HE RETURNS AS A GOD AGAIN? WILL HE EVER BECOME A GOD AGAIN???? WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING TO HAPPEN???????????? I NEED TO KNOW. ALSO ONE OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS THAT THERE HAS BEEN AN EXTREME LACK OF SHOWED UP SO LIKE +10 POINTS FOR THAT. A job well done.

Also, for a moment Apollo turned into the doge (look at this quote, I’ll prove it)

So amaze! Such name!

Sssssarah with five s’s is

Still two syllablessssss”

See? I wasn’t lying… 😄 I’m not sure if Rick mement to do that or not but it was great.

The only thing I am mildly disappointed about was that there was an extreme lack of my favorite OTP, Solangelo 😦

Here’s a strange ode to the cover that I made and forgot about until now:

An Ode to the Cover by Sue Kooky

birdman birdman
flying in the sky
so high
come down birdman
before you fall and die

Truly poetic (dear gods what was I thinking.) Anyhoo, onto the quotes!

Goddy Quotes!

“‘I was younger then,’ she said. ‘I was a different person. I’d just spent several years as a pine tree. My vision and reasoning were impaired from sap damage.'”

“Meg flinched. ‘Isn’t that dangerous?’

‘Very.’

‘And you healed with it?’

‘It was the Middle Ages. We were crazy back then.'”

“Oh, for the simple pleasures of hiding from murderous Germani, crashing miniature trains, and serenading angry griffins!”

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_0875
The power of cat compels you…

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

4 thoughts on “The Dark Prophecy (MMGM)

  1. I love your quotes! Hilarious! And your ode to the cover is perfectly poetic. 🙂 My son has enjoyed Riordan’s books. I really need to pick them up for myself. Thanks for featuring this!

Leave a Reply

