A Court of Wings and Ruin

acowar_us

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count: 699 (Hardcover)
Age Reccommendation: 16+

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places. ~ Goodreads

OH MY G O D S THIS…. *heavy breathing* *regains composure* Hoooo boi I don’t even know where to start. Personally, I’m wasn’t the biggest fan of this series. There was just too much…intensity I guess (especially considering I thought that it was YA but it turned out that it was New Adult…whoops…). But this book is the best in the series and one of the best books I’ve read in the past five years. People have praised Sarah J. Maas’s freakishly awesome battle scenes and not without a bad reason.

Somehow, she manages to make you feel like you’re there. You feel like you know what it’s like when you fight in a war, when you fly for the first time. She captures the emotion and essence of the characters so well that they are like real people to you. Feyre is such an amazing character. Like, she’s grown from a bitter teenager to a hopeless romantic wise young woman.

If I had to describe this book in one sentence it would be: A romance filled story with swords. The romance and romantic tension and the ships are just so well done, as everything else. I literally screamed like twice throughout reading this when I thought that my ship was going to become canon. XD

The only issue I had with this was a personal issue. Occasionally I felt like the book was too intense and had to take a break from it for a while. This however was just because I was not part of the intended age group that this book aimed for.

Fabulous Quotes

He wiped away the tears sliding down my face. “I believe that everything happened, exactly the way it had to… so I could find you.” He kissed another tear away.

“Why should I be scared of an oversized bat who likes to throw temper tantrums?”

Night Triumphant – and the Stars Eternal.
If he was the sweet, terrifying darkness, I was the glittering light that only his shadows could make clear.

What Does the Cat Think?

I AM THE FLUFF BOW DOWN PEASANT

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

4 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin

  1. I tried reading the first book in this series–because so many people raved about it–and just couldn’t get into it. It sounds like you had the same problem. Maybe I will give it another try!

Leave a Reply

