First Class Murder (MMGM)

51tx5s1aivl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Title: First Class Murder (Murder Most Unladylike Mysteries #3)
Author: Robin Stevens
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2015
Page Count: 303 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 10

Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are taking a holiday through Europe on the world-famous Orient Express. From the moment the girls step aboard, it’s clear that each of their fellow first-class passengers has something to hide. Even more intriguing: rumour has it that there is a spy in their midst.

Then, during dinner, there is a bloodcurdling scream from inside one of the cabins. When the door is broken down, a passenger is found murdered, her stunning ruby necklace gone. But the killer is nowhere to be seen – almost as if they had vanished into thin air.

Daisy and Hazel are faced with their first ever locked-room mystery – and with competition from several other sleuths, who are just as determined to crack the case as they are. ~ Goodreads

I love this book. I haven’t read a mystery book in a while and I’d forgotten how thrilling and engrossing they are! They’re like a scavenger hunt in a book! This is such a lovely book. It’s set in England right before World War 2. The two main characters live at an English Boarding school and solve mysteries together. The main main character, Hazel is one of my favorite characters I’ve read about. She never once annoyed me and she felt very very real. The other character, Daisy, I did not like so much but she completed the friendship dynamic with Hazel (the MC) very nicely. The book had a wonderful world building. Personally, a murder on a train is one of my favorite murder mystery tropes. You don’t have to worry about setting up towns or having too many characters (or too few). You really get to know all the characters and the suspense building up that someone on this train is guilty keeps you racing through the pages and gathering clues to solve the mystery before anyone else does. The plot twist at the end was awesome and I loved the historical setting. I also liked how the book touched upon racism and sexism very nicely. In the end, I was one hundred percent satisfied. This was the first time reading a book by this author (that I know of) and hopefully it won’t be the last. I can’t wait to read more of this series!

Fabulous Quotes

He bumped into the wall and growled, “Curse these tight corridors!”

If you had bothered to read this book, as I have been asking you to for months, you would know that the victim is stabbed, at night, in his compartment. And where is he stabbed?”

“In the heart?” I guessed.

“Good morning, Dr. Sandwich,

What Does the Cat Think?

img_1758
Meowzers! Vehicles scare me

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

6 thoughts on “First Class Murder (MMGM)

  1. I have not read any of the books in this series. Others like yourself always have enthusiastic praise for the stories. I’m adding this one to my list. Thanks for your review.

    1. This was actually the first of this series I’d read (I didn’t realize that is was part of a series when I got it from the library.) Luckily the author does an awesome job of not spoiling the previous books. Enjoy!

  2. Your enthusiasm makes me want to read this book. Great plot and characters! I am not familiar with the series but it really sounds like a thrilling read. I used to read mysteries many years ago. The last mystery I read was the Green Glass House, and I enjoyed the puzzle solving. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

