Prisoner of Ice and Snow (MMGM)

26836186

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow (Prisoner of Ice and Snow #1)
Author: Ruth Lauren
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count: 278 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 10

In a thrilling fantasy that’s equal parts Prison Break and Frozen, Valor attempts the impossible—breaking her sister out of prison.

When Valor is arrested, she couldn’t be happier. Demidova’s prison for criminal children is exactly where she wants to be. Valor’s sister Sasha is already serving a life sentence for stealing from the royal family and Valor is going to help her escape . . . from the inside.

Never mind that no one has escaped in three hundred years. Valor has a plan and resources most could only dream about. But she didn’t count on having to outsmart both the guards and her fellow prisoners. If Valor’s plan is to succeed, she’ll need to make unlikely allies. And if the plan fails, she and Sasha could end up with fates worse than prison.

This fresh and exciting middle-grade debut effortlessly melds an unforgettable protagonist, a breathless plot, and stunning world-building—and is impossible to put down. ~ Goodreads

So I first picked up this book because I really really liked the premise. I’m honestly a sucker for books that involve female warriors and escaping from inescapable situations. I expected a super cool ninja/spy/warrior girl with a super genius plan. Unfortunately for me, that was not what I was given. I got a bratty girl who didn’t think about anything beforehand. Her only plan was based on what she saw on a map in her fathers desk.

But, one of this books strengths was its really awesome character development. The author made sure to set up the main character as a spoiled child who was used to everything going her way with no regard for others. You could literally track her progress to become a better person throughout the book. The other characters relationships and characters grew too.

There was some mystery in this book (of course). It was pretty interesting, but I wasn’t too concerned with it. I was mostly just engrossed with how they would escape from the prison. I felt like the author could’ve built the tension and story involving the mystery a bit more, just to add some more excitement, but I can also see why they didn’t. The only issue I had was mostly minor. The main character committed a crime to get into prison. Honestly the crime seemed super huge to me, but she was only given a life sentence. I was really surprised because I’m pretty sure she should’ve gotten a death sentence, but I suppose it all works out well for the sake of the story.

Fabulous Quotes

It’s morning. I don’t know how I can have slept for so long.

“I’ll create a distraction in a minute. But are you going to peel any of these potatoes?”

“Valor.” He lifts his hands and wiggles his fingers at me. His nails are dirty. “You can’t expect me to risk these valuable hands on anything so mundane as a pairing knife.”

He stands at the door, not watching me. I slip a bar of soap in my pocket.

What Does the Cat Think?

This prison won’t hold me forever…

I give this book 4 stars out of 5!

 

12 thoughts on “Prisoner of Ice and Snow (MMGM)

  1. This sounds like a thrilling fantasy. Your description of how Valor grows as a character grabs my attention. But you left me with so many questions about the prison break. The bar of soap is my only clue. Means I’ll have to check it out! 🙂 Great review!

      1. We go and pick out a real trll…smeees great and then do some mini lights, and put the ornaments on from years ago. Even ones that I made as a child…which are falling apart. Then we sit back and inhale the tree.

  2. Rex, The investing tools are ok… kinda cluttered. I usually use Google Finance and Morningstar for research and use WT only for trading. Trades are fairly quick.If trading tools are very important to you, I wo2;nd&#8u17lt recommend WT. Reply

Leave a Reply

