When You Reach Me (MMGM)

when_you_reach_me

Title: When You Reach Me
Author: Rebecca Stead
Publisher: Random House, Inc
Publication Date: 2009
Page Count: 199
Age Recommendation: 10

Four mysterious letters change Miranda’s world forever.

By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend, Sal, know how to navigate their New York City neighborhood. They know where it’s safe to go, like the local grocery store, and they know whom to avoid, like the crazy guy on the corner.

But things start to unravel. Sal gets punched by a new kid for what seems like no reason, and he shuts Miranda out of his life. The apartment key that Miranda’s mom keeps hidden for emergencies is stolen. And then Miranda finds a mysterious note scrawled on a tiny slip of paper:

I am coming to save your friend’s life, and my own.
I must ask two favors. First, you must write me a letter.

The notes keep coming, and Miranda slowly realizes that whoever is leaving them knows all about her, including things that have not even happened yet. Each message brings her closer to believing that only she can prevent a tragic death. Until the final note makes her think she’s too late. ~ Goodreads

SFAFLJDFHSDHFEKH I FELT SO MANY EMOTIONS WHILE READING THIS BOOK IT WAS SO GOOD. If I didn’t have to leave the library it would be finished in one sitting. This book is so sweet and sad and happy and so many things all at once. Our main character is actually someone I can relate to. She lives in New York and at the beginning of the book she only had one friend. She didn’t want to make any more because wasn’t that one friend enough? Of course, she grows and grows up. She’s a much different person than she was at the beginning and she’s gotten past her differences and biases.

One amazing thing I liked was that there was the stereotypical ‘rich girl’. But instead of just being a walking cliche, she actually has some depth and isn’t shamed or hated for what she has at the end. After all, it’s not her fault. This book combined so many things. Friendship, romance, some science fiction and real life problems. Everything blended together so smoothly and the writing was phenomenal. I have a hard time believing that this story was under 200 pages.

This book left me satisfied but wanting to know more about what happened to the characters. What led up to everything? How did it happen? It also was surprisingly deep AND probably the coolest part of this book was the theories about time. I actually had thought about some of them before and to see them in this book was super cool XD

Fabulous Quotes!

Pajamas are good for the soul.

She’s called the secretary, but as far as I can tell she basically runs the school.

Nice tights,” I snorted. Or I tried to snort, anyway. I’m not exactly sure how, though people in books are always doing it.

What Does the Cat Think?

img_2874
What a smashing twist!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

8 thoughts on “When You Reach Me (MMGM)

  1. I actually preferred Liar & Spy, but this book is certainly in a class by itself. An unbelievably absorbing read with fantastic writing. Entertaining and thought-provoking. Loved it. Thanks.

  2. The opening with the missing key and mysterious letters made me think, child predator or school bully. So, I was surprised with your review. It sounds like an unusual, but great read. Nice review!

  3. This is my absolute favorite by Rebecca Stead. I’ve liked her other books, but in my mind, nothing comes close to this one. I so related to the main character, and I loved the 70s setting. It was also a favorite with my son, but for different reasons, because of the time travel element.
    This is definitely a classic, and the Newberry was well-deserved.

Leave a Reply

