Carry On

9781250049551_custom-9e20e3e13b85b0600c8c0d361dbcc4a6505ffcfb-s400-c85

Title: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: 2015
Page Count: 517 (Paperback)
Age Recommendation: 14

A #1 New York Times-bestseller

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters. ~ Goodreads

Oh my g o s h. So you know how there are good books? And then there are good good books? And then there are books that plague your thoughts when you’re not reading them because you absolutely can’t stay away? Even when you’re watching a movie or hanging out with a friend, you’re just thinking ‘I could be reading right now’. And then you finish the book and you’re sad and happy and your brain is absolutely exhausted and you just are sort of speechless? Carry on was just like That.

There’s nothing that exactly stands out in Carry On that I can point at and be like, yes, that is what made this book good. Because honestly? I have no idea what made this book good. All I know is that I couldn’t stop thinking about it and wanting to find out what happened.

Maybe one thing that made this book so absolutely gripping was that it was written like a really really good fanfiction. I mean, it technically is. It’s a fanfiction of a series that technically was a fanfiction of Harry Potter? And the author was inspired to write this after writing her book Fangirl that was about a girl who was invested in writing fanfiction about the other series that was a fanfiction of Harry Potter? Yah…it’s complicated…

Anyway, fanfictions aren’t usually that different from books except they have this different feeling. I’m not quite sure how to explain it but it’s a rollercoaster on a cloud. You have so many feelings and they’re all soft and pink but it’s terrifying because you’re on a freaking rollercoaster XD.

Another thing that might have made this book stand out so well was the romance was so absolutely shipable. Like, EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE IT WAS SO CUTE!!!! I was barely introduced to their relationship before I was like–this is it. This is my ship. All aboaaard!!! (That’s for trains actually I just now realize but whatever XD.)

The writing was also pretty darn funny. There were so many interesting and unique characters and I cared about all of them. I especially liked Penny and her BFF relationship with Simon. Plus like the author managed to add all of the context that we needed even though we were technically at the falling action part of the series, in one book.

I absolutely loved spotting the connections to Harry Potter. There were never any moments where I was like, ‘Ohmygosh she totally stole this from Harry Potter’ but I could tell that she took inspiration from Harry Potter and put it into her own unique story. Though I know that some of the parallels did annoy people but it just made it more exiting for me.

There were so many cool creatures in this too! I wished we could have met some more of them but I suppose you can only cram so much into one book. Plus there was a GOAT HERDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love goats and I went through a brief goat-loving-phase about a year ago. I was going to make clothes for my miniature goat and everything.

Plus both covers are absolutely GORGEOUS so even if you buy the book and you don’t like it, it absolutely won’t turn your aesthetic bookshelf into something straight out of a nightmare.

All in all, this book made me want to do a backflip and scream and a lot of other crazy stuff so I guess that I can say you should read it 😉

Magical Quotes!

“How often do you have to drink?”
“Every night, to feel good. Every few nights, to stay sane.”
“Have you ever bitten anyone?”
“No. I’m not a murderer.”
“Does it have to be fatal every time? The biting? Couldn’t you just drink some of a person’s blood, then walk away?”
“I can’t believe you’re asking me this, Snow. You, who can’t walk away from half a sandwich.”

“There are only so many hours in the day, Simon. Two, three people—that’s all any of us have time for.”
“There are more people than that in your immediate family, Penny.”
“I know. It’s a struggle.”

“It’s like being a fairy named Mary,” he goes on.
“Or a vampire named Gampire,” I say
“Gampire isn’t even a proper name, Snow. You’re terrible at this game.”

What Does the Cat Think?

Duck On a Bike! Miley review!!
I am a deadly vampire thirsting for blood. Mwuahahahaha!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

 

6 thoughts on “Carry On

  1. Loved your enthusiasm for this story. Never heard of fanfiction before. With so many similarities from Harry Potter, I didn’t know that was legal. It does sound like a great read for teens.

    I read the newly released “The Sandcastle Empire.” It doesn’t fit the theme of my blog, but I wrote a review on GoodReads. It’s long and complex sci-fi, but one I think you’d really like. It will certainly become a series. I’m still thinking about the characters and the plot. Leonardo DiCaprio bought the rights for a movie before the book was even published.

    1. XD well I’m not actually sure how she didn’t quite get sued but oh well. I’ll definitely have to check out The Sandcastle Empire. It’s awesome that Leonardo DiCaprio bought the rights before it was even published!!!!! It must be really good. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

