The Creeping Shadow (MMGM)

51uu7kncfel-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Title: The Creeping Shadow (Lockwood & Co. #4)
Author: Jonathon Stroud
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Publication Date: 2016
Page Count: 445
Age Recommendation: 14+

After leaving Lockwood & Co. at the end of The Hollow Boy, Lucy is a freelance operative, hiring herself out to agencies that value her ever-improving skills. One day she is pleasantly surprised by a visit from Lockwood, who tells her he needs a good Listener for a tough assignment. Penelope Fittes, the leader of the giant Fittes Agency wants them–and only them–to locate and remove the Source for the legendary Brixton Cannibal. They succeed in their very dangerous task, but tensions remain high between Lucy and the other agents. Even the skull in the jar talks to her like a jilted lover. What will it take to reunite the team? Black marketeers, an informant ghost, a Spirit Cape that transports the wearer, and mysteries involving Steve Rotwell and Penelope Fittes just may do the trick. But, in a shocking cliffhanger ending, the team learns that someone has been manipulating them all along. . . . ~ Goodreads

This book was gruesome. It was gory. It was exciting. It was shocking and I couldn’t put it down. I absolutely LOVE this series and I have to say that The Creeping Shadow is by far the best out of all the previous books. I occasionally had to take a break or shivered while reading through some parts. It did have a bit less ghost hunting than the previous three, but it did move the plot forward by a LOT and surprised me. It addressed an important plot point that I thought the author would just leave unsolved. Of course, this adds to the suspense and mystery of it all. There isn’t a character that I don’t like in this series. And I really really loved how Holly’s and Lucy’s relationship blossomed (like a beautiful flower) throughout the book. AND everything just kept on escalating and escalating, like a rollercoaster. I have this feeling that we’ve reached the top and everything is going downhill at extremely fast speeds in the next book.

A plus side to reading this book/series is that there is horror, but also humor (and ill timed jokes, thanks a lot George). Plus the deep backstories and fast paced writing made this book go by in a flash. I was surpirsed when I looked back and found that I was on the 400th page already. I also didn’t want it to end because like??? Bro, I CAN’T WAIT A YEAR FOR THE NEXT ONE I ALREADY HAVE LIKE FIFTY SERIES THAT HAVEN’T FINISHED YET AND I AM GETTING IMPATIENT!!!! 😡 (Though taking their time with the sequel just means that it’s going to be amazing.)

There were a few plot twists that I sort of saw through, the hints were obvious. Of course, this didn’t bother me at all because the characters were smart and also noticed them! (Like sometimes something will happen in a book and it’s practically like there’s a flashing sign saying, ‘OVER HERE!!! PLOT TWIST!!! LOOK AT ME!!!!’ and then the character is just like NOPE OBVIOUSLY NOT TRUE LET’S TAKE THE REST OF THE ENTIRE BOOK TO FIGURE THIS OUT.)

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH ALL I NEED NOW IS THE NEXT BOOK

AND FOR LOCKWOOD AND LUCY TO GET TOGETHER BECAUSE LIKE

SIOHFKJEDUH

I CAN’T TAKE IT

THEY’RE PERFECT TOGETHER!!!!!!!!

…Anyway, it’s a good series. I recommend.

Fabulous Quotes!

“We can hardly dis someone on the grounds they turned down cake, George.”

“You bet we can. In my eyes, refusing cake is an immoral act. ‘I’m not a cakey person’–those were his actual words. Brrr.”

Kipps rotated again. “And oh, that’s horrible. There by the fire! A gaunt, wizened thing with protruding teeth…”

Danny Skinner spoke with dignity. “That would be my grandfather, remember? He’s still alive.”

“Oh, yes. Got a bit carried away there.”

We’re on the verge of something special here and all you’re thinking about is fries?! Come back!

What Does the Cat Think?

img_1557
Spook

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

Also, I will be gone at this random camp for the whole week so I won’t be able to reply to comments until then. But I still love you! ❤

10 thoughts on “The Creeping Shadow (MMGM)

Leave a Reply

