Made You Up

51nduibfljl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Title: Made You Up
Author: Francesca Zappia
Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher
Publication Date: 2015
Page Count: 427 (Paperback)
Age Recommendation: 14

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up. ~ Goodreads

You know the old saying: ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’? Yeah. I completely and utterly ignored that nifty little saying with this book. I was cruising through the bookstore, looking for a (paperback) book to buy. Sure, some of the books sounded intereseting, but I had to keep up the aesthetic aspect of my bookshelf, yanno? Plus, if the book sucked at least I would have a pretty cover.

So, I was walking through the YA section when all of a sudden, I saw it. A pale girl with red hair. She was holding an umbrella and wore a black and white sweater. Rain, or rather, different colors of blue water colored paint poured down from the top of the cover.

I immediately bought it. The question you must be asking now is…Was the book good? Where is the actual review? I’ve already seen the cover with my own eyes and didn’t need to read a one hundred worded story about how you like the cover. Come on Sue.

Well, I, the Question Answerer can answer that!

Made You Up is a YA book about a girl who has a mental illness that causes her to be unable to tell daydreams from reality. Mental illness, or just illness in general seems to be becoming a common topic in the Young Adult genre. I think that’s a great thing! People should be exposed to different views, cultures and lives of people. It also helps people view others who are different than them as people.

I really don’t have an opinion on any of the characters. There are the usual side characters. They all seem to have potential for awesome backstories or character developement but none of it was explored and we left them as we met them.

This wasn’t too much of an issue since there was an extreme amount of turmoil and chaos in MC’s life. There was honestly never a dull moment. Her narrative was shaky since you could never tell what was real and what was not. The other main character, Miles had his own issues.

I felt that the issues in the book were sort of put there to distract from the lack of character developement. While there *might* have been some character developement, it wasn’t evident or much significance.

The plot was pretty chill. It was crazy weird though. It sorta revolved around scoreboard that fell on someone like ten years ago? I think. But not really? It was mostly about falling in love and overcoming difficulties. ??????? It was pretty unclear. Combining that with the sort of weak character development, it ended up being a sort of, kind of, weak story.

But somehow, it was good. I was engrossed and ate it up. That’s the most important thing after all, right?

There were some parts especially that I felt were somewhat unnecessary and the author added in to make the book more exciting. The ‘twist’ was shocking at first but the effect soon faded away.

The one thing that was my absolute favorite part of the book, (I bet you can’t guess) was the ship! *ghasp* Yes, I know I hardly ever even think about these things, much less let them take over my life, thoughts, social media accounts….

Nope, you must be thinking of a different Sue Kooky. Anyway, Miles and MC were SO CUTE TOGETHER! Their relationship was adorable and seeing them interact with each other was so eeeeeeee!

I hope this articulate review has been of much help!

Fabulous Quotes!

Everyone’s interesting if you stare at them long enough.

“Did you meet your soul mate? That always happens on the first day of school, right?’

“Oh God, Charlie, she’s letting you read again! You went straight to the paranormal section, didn’t you?”

The only thing missing was Miles. But he was probably circling somewhere, destroying villages and hoarding gold in his mountain lair

What Does the Cat Think?

 

I don’t like the rain

I give this book 4 stars out of 5!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Made You Up

  1. Haven’t read a book about a teen dealing with schizophrenia. I like that the MC is able to function with the help of a friend. LOL — You buy a book because it has a great cover appeal for your bookshelf. Glad you took a chance on this one.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s