One of Us is Lying

Happy October everyone! I am so excited. This is one of my favorite times of the year! (Aside from every other time of the year.) I accidentally just poured a whole bunch of pepper of my macaroni and cheese :))) lol Without further ado, here’s the review!

51bgoe2bi2ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Title: One of Us is Lying
Author: Karen M. McManus
Publisher: Penguin Random House LLC
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count: 360 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 13

A New York Times bestseller

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.  ~ Goodreads

*insert exactly ten clapping emojis here* *wipes away invisible tear* Now THIS is the YA content I’m looking for. One of Us is Lying is a whirlwind of betrayal, suspence, romance and murder.

Although the story is sort of crazy and far fetched, the characters are what keeps the book from veering off into Lala Land. As you can tell from the title, all of the character are lying. The unreliability of their narration was something that added to the mystery. I found myself overanalyzing everything they said and ghasping when they revealed something about themselves that we didn’t know. I just love unreliable narrators, especially during a mystery and when they’re written well.

Each character was absolutely unique and only once did I get slightly confused when the POV switched. It also helped that it was in third POV. I hate it when there are multiple POVs all written in first person. :/

The mystery is honestly really well written. The clues are adding up, but not correctly. The case isn’t being handled correctly by the popo, everyone is a suspect and drama is constantly (but not overwhelmingly) haunting the MCs.

I also loved the character development and how much more we got to know the characters throughout the story! Brownyn (or however you spell her name) was sort of annoying but inspiring at the same time. She was really, really goal driven for herself and her family. The other characters saw her as bossy and nerdy, but honestly she was just out there to achieve her goal and didn’t really care what people thought.

Addy seemed like an empty shell at first. She literally didn’t do anything without her boyfriend’s permission and her mom thought that the only way for her to be happy is to have a boyfriend, but…once she BROKE FREE of the RESTRAINTS that were RESTRAINING her she had a NEWFOUND SENSE OF FREEDOM. Plus she ended up being one of my favorite characters in the book.

Cooper was ok at first, I honestly wasn’t too into baseball and he was way into baseball. BUT THEN he was really just a sweet person AND THEN there was the TWIST and I was like *GHASP* YAS I LOVE you do you!!!!!!! I’M SO PROUD YOU’RE SO STRONG AND DON’T DESERVE ALL THESE TERRIBLE THINGS!!!

Nate I thought would be my favorite because I always love angsty, emo ‘bad’ characters. XD I did like him too! He was super sweet, had a terrible family life and when something good actually happened to him, I just got this really warm feeling in my heart.

That sounded really depressing… ANYWAY

The mystery was very nice. A+ I feel that a little more suspense could have been added, but other than that it was the good stuff. It didn’t gloss over the death and revealed some real sickos. There were plenty of shocks that added a nice sense of risk to the story.

Another nice thing was how real it was. The ending was especially great. The loose ends were wrapped up enough for me to be satisfied, but also left room to speculate about what happened in the next chapter of their lives.

Fabulous Quotes!

“Bronwyn Rojas, I solemnly swear not to murder you today or at any point in the future. Deal?”
“You’re ridiculous,” she mutters, going even redder.
“It concerns me you’re avoiding a promise not to murder me.”

I guess we’re almost friends now, or as friendly as you can get when you’re not one hundred percent sure the other person isn’t framing you for murder.

I know what it’s like to tell yourself a lie so often that it becomes the truth.

What Does the Cat Think?

 

I’m too tired for this

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5!

2 thoughts on “One of Us is Lying

Leave a Reply

