Wonder (MMGM)

Book: Wonder
Author: R. J. Palacio
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 315
Publication date: 2012

I know…everybody has read Wonder. BUT!!! Who says it can’t have a review?
And without any further rambling, ON TO THE REVIEW!

You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life. In an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

Narrated by Auggie and the people around him whose lives he touches forever, Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page. ~ Goodreads

Wow…what a amazing book! The plot, the story, the characters! It really is a one of a kind book. Or should I say a wonder-ful book *snicker*. The book is really touching because August is really just a ordinary kid at heart, but nobody sees him that way because of his face. In fact one of the first sentences in this book is “I think that the only person in the world who realized how ordinary I am is me.” Sometimes people want to stand out because they don’t feel “good enough”, those people (and everybody else) should read this book. It makes your realize sometimes how awesome it is to be ordinary. I love this book because you get to read it from other peoples point of view, it is kind of like having lots of short stories in one book, but when you mash them together, they become one big story. Sometimes when authors changes points of view you can’t tell because all the characters seem the same. This was not the case. It is very obvious that the author took time to “get to know” her characters and create a backstory for them so they were all different. The book also shows the mean side of people, but it also shows that sometimes they can be very nice. The story very realistic because the characters make mistakes, and they learn from it. Another reason I love this book is that when the points of view change, there is always a really awesome precept. The story is one of those awesome books that you can read over and over again without getting bored. And just how awesome is that cover? Seriously, look at it!

My only complaint is that the story was waaaaaaaayyy to short. I mean, come on people, only 315 pages? Just kidding, I have no complaints. For this book… *ominous music*

Age recommendation: 8 and up


Fabulous Quotes

“I looked at her now. I wanted her to see how mad I was at her. But then I saw her face and just nodded. She seemed more scared than I was.”


“I noticed Julian staring at me out of the corner of his eye. This is something I see people do a lot with me. They think I don’t know they’re staying, but I can tell from the way their heads are tilted.”


“Rat boy. Freak. Monster. Freddy Krueger. E.T. Gross-Out. Lizard face. Mutant. I know the names they call me. I’ve been in enough playgrounds to know that kids can be mean. I know, I know, I know.”


“You were wearing that helmet all the time. And the real, real, real, real truth is: I missed seeing your face, Auggie. I know you don’t always love it, but you have to understand…I love it. I love this face of yours, Auggie, completely and passionately. And it kind of broke my heart that you were always covering it up.”


Aaannd without further ado…
it’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for…
What does the cat think???

What a exhausting whirlwind of intense emotions!



And I Sue Kooky give this book…



5 stars out of 5! Wow! That deserves a medal!

 

If you would like to go back to the fabulous Mrs. Messenger’s blog, click here.

13 thoughts on “Wonder (MMGM)

  1. Welcome to MMGM. WONDER is one of my favorite reads. Such a powerful book for teens. Ironically, I reviewed a book Monday, WRITTEN IN THE SUN, which had a secondary character with a scarred face.

Leave a comment