Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China (MMGM)

Screenshot 2018-04-22 at 11.32.40 PM

Title: Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China
Author: Sherry Ellis
Publisher: Dancing Lemur Press, L.L.C.
Publication Date: September 4th 2018
Page Count: 96 (Paperback)
Age Recommendation: 8
How I Came Across the Book: Review request!

You can’t dig a hole to China!

Squirt doesn’t believe Bubba can dig a hole to China. But when the hole swallows them, the kids find themselves in Xi’an, China, surrounded by Terracotta Warriors.

It gets worse when the ghost of the first emperor of China appears. He tells them they can’t go home until they find his missing pi. The kids don’t know where to begin until they meet a girl and her grandmother who promise to help find the pendant.

Soon they realize they are being followed. And they are no closer to finding the missing pi. Will Bubba and Squirt ever make it back home? ~ From the Publisher

Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China is an adorable younger MG book. With a magic shovel, some unsupervised children, a hole, and an angry ghost–it’s hard to not smile while reading this lovable novel.

This book is obviously meant for younger kids. Even so, I enjoyed reading it. The plot-line was cute, the characters were adorable, and it managed to capture the ever-day life of a child. That special mix of play, reality, and magic that made everything just seem to sparkle.

The narration was one of the highlights of the book. It was written a bit like Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles. Where the characters are actually speaking to the reader. I find this a refreshing way to narrate. It isn’t seen to often and it really engages the reader in a way that other narrations can’t.

This is a book that will entertain all ages. The jokes are aimed for little kids, but they are so innocent and overall cute that even adults would smile too.

Not only is this book cute, but also educational! Children reading this book will be thoroughly entertained, but also tricked into becoming partially educated about other cultures! Lot’s of interesting facts about Chinese history, language, and culture are sprinkled throughout the book. Plus, at the end, there is a Glossary and a recipe for dumplings. Score!

Aside from a rather awkward set of sentences at the beginning of the book, Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China is definitely a book I would recommend to younger kids. It is perfect for readers who are just starting to cultivate a love for reading. With a charming cast and exciting plot, it will be sure to grasp the attention of readers as they gobble up the pages.

Fabulous Quotes!

It’s a little bit of luck and a little bit of fate that determines our destiny. But they forgot one thing. It’s also a little bit of work.

Interesting. The stinky sticks had a purpose.

I didn’t stop until I got to the big tree. Mama called it the sick more tree, but it didn’t look sick to me.

What Does the Cat Think?

Dig? Work? China? Learning? WORK??!?!?!?! No thanks

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5!

9 thoughts on “Bubba and Squirt’s Big Dig to China (MMGM)

  1. Such a great concept. I remember trying to dig my way to China as a kid. I never made it of course but not for lack of trying. This one sounds perfect for reluctant readers and those new to MG books. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Yes, it’s a very creative twist on an old concept! I never tried to dig to china, but I did try to dig to the middle of the Earth. The hole is still in my backyard! Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Yes, I love everything about your review — especially your enthusiasm that shine through your reviews. I think all kids wonder about digging a hole to China, so this will satisfy that wonder. I like the idea of the characters speaking to the readers — that really grabs my attention! And, a little culture. What a fun selection!

    1. Thank you!! I do my best to put my passion and emotions to words, I’m glad it shows through! And yes, somehow every kid I knew when I was younger at least mentioned digging to China. This was such a fun book, I think you would enjoy!

  3. Pingback: Sherry Ellis Author Interview! – Kitty Cat at the Library

Leave a comment