The Hammer of Thor (MMGM)

13124431_1070195709732711_2987504240391914003_n-768x768

Title: The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)
Author: Rick Riordan
Publication date: 2016
Page count: 480 (hardcover)
Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books
Age recommendation: 8+

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high. ~ Goodreads

 

(Sorry for the weird cover, I couldn’t find a good one that would upload :/)Welp, I’m not really sure what to say. On one hand-It was a-MAZ-ing and I LOVED IT! Magnus was just awesome and I loved his powers! Most heroes powers have something to do with fighting or harming others, but Magnus’ are healing others which is something new and not an every-day, run-of-the-mill power! Hearthstone quickly became my little elf child of the series and :)))) he just makes me smile! I’M HAPPY JUST THINKING ABOUT THE TORTURE HE WENT THROUGH AND HOW HE IS NICE AND IS ALIVE AFTER IT! (I’m really great at parties) And Sam was pretty amazing too, she’s an inspiration to all the ‘over-achievers’ out there XD. And Otis was just :,) (I now only show emotions through emojis). The writing was also classic Rick, funny, quirky, and entertaining. However, I have to say that one of my favorite parts of this book is the representation of all races, religion, genders, and whatnot. That is something that unfortunately is not common in most MG and YA books. But…On the other hand, the book felt kind of sort of dry, like a cake that’s been left out overnight, it’s still good and delicious-but not as good as before. The plot felt suspiciously similar to any one of his other books (minus TTOATHO ((don’t you love acronyms))) and it was just, meh. However, Rick decided to stir things up and… AAKLSKDFHLRHFLDJSBCEDHFOFBAPICNAJDLBJL I WANT THE NEXT BOOK PLEASE AND THANK YOOOOUUUU!!! :)))))

i-like-it-another-thor-reaction-gif

Godly Quotes

“Otis,” I said. “Shhh,” he said. “I’m incognito. Call me…Otis.” “I’m not sure that’s how incognito works, but okay.”

“You’re sure?” I asked. “I mean, the Lord of the Sword is great. But you could also be, I don’t know, the Slammer of the Hammer.”

I turned to Alex. “Hey, are you female today?”
“Hold on… There! Now I’m female.”
My expression must have been priceless.

What Does the Cat Think?

img_2389
Sorry? What was that? I couldn’t hear you over the screams of all my mortal fans

I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5!

8 thoughts on “The Hammer of Thor (MMGM)

Leave a comment