Talons of Power (MMGM)

Hello fellow Kitty Catians!!! 😀 I am BACK AT IT AGAIN with another BOOK REVIEW!!! (Also, guess who is extremely sunburned because she thought sunscreen was overrated…hehehehe *cries*)(ALSO NIGHTFALL’S COVER IS RELEASED ON MARCH EIGHTH…MARK YOUR CALENDARS!!!!)(I bet y’all thought I was going to post a review of Ashes…XD MWUAHAHAHA HAPPY EARLY APRIL FOOLS)


Title: Talons of Power (Wings of Fire #9)
Author: Tui T. Sutherland
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: 2017
Page Count:  290 (Hardcover)
Age Recommendation: 9

The war is over. The false prophecy has been fulfilled. But the dragonets still have enemies. A dark evil, buried for centuries, is stirring.

And a young NightWing may have had the first true prophecy in generations . . .

Something is coming to shake the earth
Something is coming to scorch the ground
Jade Mountain will fall beneath thunder and ice
Unless the lost city of night can be found.

Don’t miss the next chapter in the epic, bestselling Wings of Fire series! ~ Goodreads

Holy guacamole I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!! LIKE IT WAS PERFECT!!!!! So, the series continues with its penultimate peril (hahahaha). The main character, Turtle, is honestly someone we know very little about. We know he doesn’t really talk much and is a prince…but that’s pretty much it. But then WE LEARN ALL OF TURTLE’S SECRETS MWUAHAHAHAHA!!! And honestly, Turtle is probably now my second favorite character of the second series (aside from Qibli). He’s actually someone who I can relate to a lot! (Shy, wants to be a hero but is too afraid XD). Plus I feel like his character grows a lot, though in a slightly generic way…The writing is something I also REALLY ENJOY. Like, it’s always really funny and sort of reminds me of Rick Riordan’s writing. It also could very easily take a dark twist with all the violence and soul eating, 0_0 but she manages to keep it middle grade without taking out all the fun action and evilness, mwuahahahahaha! AND THE PLOT IS ALWAYS LIKE SUPER DUPER FUN AND SWAGALICIOUS!!! ALL THE TWISTS AND TURNS AND FLYING INTO THE UNKNOWN!!!!! EEEEEEEEEEEEEHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! I also just love the descriptions and types of dragons in this series, they’re all so unique and cool. AAAAAHHHH. Plus the shipping and dragon couples in this series is real (MOONBLI FOR THE WORLD!!!). The only real issues I have with this book is it’s not nearly as long as it should be. Plus I really liked how she portrayed Darkstalker. Like… He was definitely evil…but…also a human being dragon? He wasn’t just some completely evil dragon that wanted to take over the world. He actually had emotions and cared about other dragons. I WAS IMPRESSED!

Fabulous Quotes!

“There you go,” Darkstalker said. “May you be as thoroughly unhappy as you want to be.” “Thank you,” Stonemover whispered

I was like, so what were the SeaWings up to back then? and he was all ‘getting massacred’. So THAT was cheerful.

“In case he does something SUPER  EVIL?” Anemone teased, pouncing at him. Turtle flinched away. “You jelly-fish.

What Does the Cat Think?

IMG_4245
I am a teRRIFYING DRAGON!!!! FEAR ME!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

10 thoughts on “Talons of Power (MMGM)

  1. Pingback: THE LAST CHERRY BLOSSOM for Marvelous Middle Grade Monday | Always in the Middle…

  2. I have had this series on my TBR list for way too long. Your enthusiastic review of this new volume convinced me to take care of that omission. I’m heading to the library to seek out book #1.

  3. I totally get the excitement for the cover of Nightfall! I have been waiting for so long – I can’t believe the cover is coming out so soon! I think the cover of Talons of Power is beautiful, and it’s great it’s 9th in the series! Thanks for the review!

  4. Pingback: Darkness of Dragons (MMGM) – Kitty Cat at the Library

Leave a comment